Hopkinton Garden Club

GCFM Civic and Historic Landscape Grant -Awarded Sept 8, 2022

The Hopkinton Garden Club was very honored to receive the \$500 Civic and Historic Landscape Grant to be used for 2023 in our historic Claflin Fountain Garden site.

The Claflin Memorial Fountain was erected in 1907 in memory of Charles Winslow Claflin and Ann Maria Claflin and placed on the Hopkinton Town Common. The fountain was restored in 2015 so that water could flow again. For the first few years after restoration. In late 2021, the Hopkinton Garden Club approached the Hopkinton Park and Rec dept (which oversees the Common) to volunteer with a fall planting, as the Common is a central gathering site in our town where town events and concerts are held, weekly Farmers Market, and the Boston Marathon starts. In 2022, a club committee met with the Park and Rec director to plan how we could work together to enhance the site; a plan was presented of what our club's responsibility would be. In spring 2023, soil samples were done, layers of old mulch were removed, necessary nutrients to the soil were added, new shrubs were purchased, and the town offered help from DPW for watering and mulching. Our club then did a spring planting of pansies prior to the Boston Marathon.

Our Grant money will be used to help fund our summer planting which was done on June 10; at that time, 275 Sunpatiens were planted in addition to several replacement Rosa red drift, Leucothue, and juniper blue Pacific. Our club has a continued commitment to maintain these plantings: watering multiple times per week as needed, dead heading, and replacement of any non-healthy plants. This grant will supplement what we get from the town so that we can continue to have 2 or 3 seasonal plantings per year.

Adding this Claflin Fountain site to our Beautification efforts (which include 14 planters and 5 other garden sites) has been an appreciated addition to our town Common; our club receives much positive feedback from our town's residents, businesses, and Hopkinton Town Officials.

Ann Hussey Hogaboom and Kathy Hinds, Co-Presidents 2022-2023



